Welcome! The Asian Patent Attomrneys Association Korea Group

  • HOME
  • Introduction
  • Introduction
  • 테스트 이미지
  • About Us

    The Asian Patent Attorneys Association (APAA) was established in 1969, with the goal and objective of fostering ties of mutual friendship and understanding among those who practice as professional patent attorneys in the Asia region, and through such ties, to promote the protection of intellectual property in the region.

    In order to achieve the objects, the APAA holds meetings for members; establishes and maintains close contacts with various governmental, intergovernmental, and non-governmental organizations related to intellectual property; sends delegates to meetings held by such organizations; and investigates, studies, plans, proposes and assists improvements of international and national laws and regulations concerning intellectual property. The APAA now comprises 15 Recognized Groups representing Australia, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam and Korea. Each year, about 1,000 people attend APAA annual meetings, which may be a Council Meeting (annual meeting) or a General Assembly (held every three years). About two thirds of the participants are members, and about one third are observers from European countries, the U.S.A. and other non-member countries.

    APAA is currently headed by Mr. Myung-Shin Kim. He was elected as the President of the APAA in 2000. Myung-Shin Kim is the first Korean to become the President of the APAA.

    The Korea Group of the APAA is one of the three founding member Groups which established the APAA in 1969 (the other two are the Japan and Taiwan Groups.) The Korea Group was established on December 26, 1969, with 29 founding member patent attorneys. The Korea Group has developed consistently and now has over 300 members.

    The Korea Group successfully hosted the Third Council Meeting of the APAA in Seoul in 1970, the Eighth Council Meeting and the Third General Assembly, both in Seoul in 1974, the Eighth General Assembly in Seoul in 1988, and the Forty-Third Council Meeting in Kyongju in 1999.

    The Korea Group has also held a number of domestic and international seminars and workshops. For example, the Korea Group members visited Taipei in 2001 to hold a joint seminar with the Taiwan Group of the APAA. The Korea Group invited the Japan Group in 2002 to hold a joint seminar in Seoul. The Korea Group has contributed tremendously to the development of the intellectual property protection system in Korea and to the improvement of relationship, not only among the Korean members, but also with the members of the other Groups.

    The past and present presidents of the Korea Group are as follow:

    Byoung-Ho Lee     (1970-1985)
    Jae-Chul Choi       (1985-1988)
    Suk-Jae Yim          (1988-1991)
    Myung-Shin Kim    (1991-1994)
    Tae-Ryoun Chung (1994-1997)
    Chul-Soo Kim        (1997-2000)
    Tae-Won Kim        (2000-2003)
    Dall-Ryong Choi    (2003-2006)
    Ea-Roo Kang        (2006-2009)
    Dong-Yol Yoon      (2009~2012)
    Ho-Hyun Nahm     (2012-2015)